Ban on “non-compulsory” travel lifted in Belgium

The restrictions on non-mandatory travel, which the Belgian government has been implementing since January 27, to combat the third wave and new strains of Covid-19, have been ended.

Under the restriction, those entering or wanting to leave Belgium had to prove that their travel was absolutely necessary.

Within the scope of the ban, Belgium stipulated that a “declaration of honor” should be filled before entering the country from the European Union (EU) and Schengen countries, and the purpose of the trip should be stated here.

Compulsory business travel, assistance to a person in need of care, travel for education, family reasons such as illness or the death of a relative, visiting children of parents living in different countries, living in a neighboring country and having to cross the border to go to their daily work are exceptions. was taken.

With the last decision, the obligation of those entering Belgium from European countries or those who want to leave the country to prove that their travel is absolutely necessary has ended.

Despite this, travel rules to Belgium remain strict. A “form” must be filled in 48 hours prior to travel to the country and the location of the previous 14 days must be reported. According to the epidemic situation in the region, it is reported how long the quarantine will be entered in Belgium and on which days the Covid-19 test will be performed.

A negative PCR test is also required before traveling to Belgium from high-risk areas.

On travels from England, South Africa and South America, a 10-day quarantine and a test on the 1st and 7th days of quarantine are required. For those who violate these rules 250 euro fine applicable.

In March last year, the EU imposed restrictions on non-mandatory travel to countries other than Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, which are part of the Schengen area, as well as 27 member states to prevent the spread of the epidemic.

In line with this recommendation, Belgium maintains restrictions on travel to third countries.

Belgium currently imposes temporary travel restrictions to all countries except Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and Rwanda.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *